Work in Progress

Is It May Yet?

Back in January, I planned to start interval training to start running again (#18 on the list). I found a fantastic sports bra at the Nike store, created a training program (sort of…) and even downloaded this awesome app called “Zombies, Run!” (more on that later) to help motivate me enough to actually get to the running part.

Unfortunately, my kidneys had a different idea.

I had developed a kidney stone and, lucky me, it decided to move. And then pass. With great difficulty. All I can say is, if passing a kidney stone really is the pain equivalent of giving birth, I don’t think I will ever have children.

In a way, the stone was actually one of those weird, excruciatingly painful blessings in disguise because I learned that I need to stop drinking carbonated drinks (no more soda for me) and start taking calcium supplements. Unfortunately, the calcium supplements I started taking had some sort of additive in them that I was, big surprise, allergic to.

So, here we are in March and I have yet to actually start running again. I’ve been doing some basic yoga stretches and at-home workouts that I don’t need to venture out of my apartment for so I’m in better shape than I was, but I’m looking forward to running in the near future.

If I actually get up when my alarm goes off tomorrow, I’ll start then.

My adventures with The Kidney Stone of Doom and the Allergic Reaction From Hell didn’t keep me from getting stuff done though. I even crossed something off my list!

#66- Learn First Aid/CPR – I registered for the class late (read: the day before…) but I was still able to take it! Thanks to the Student Recreation Center and the American Red Cross, I am now certified in both First Aid and CPR. Actually, as far as the American Red Cross is concerned, I think I’m technically a certified First Responder.

I also completed not only a phone interview for Teach For America, but a Final Interview as well! I find out March 14th if I’ve been accepted into the program or not and, if I have, what my assigned Region is.

So, eventful two months.

This month, I plan to:

  • Start running again
  • Register for the GRE
  • Study for the GRE
  • Go to the Flogging Molly concert on March 17th

We’ll see what happens.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment